Snow emergency in Boston
/
A snow emergency and parking ban are now in effect in Boston. Residents can park at discounted garages across the City.
Back to top

How to license your dog

Tải game đổi thẻIf you own a dog in the City, you must get a license for them. You have three different options:

.

Step
2

Fill out the application

Tải game đổi thẻWhether you're licensing a new dog or renewing an old license, you can  You'll also need to pay a fee with your application:

  • $15 for a neutered male or spayed female, or
  • $30 for an intact male or female.

You can pay online with a credit card. We will also charge you a 2.7 percent service fee. There is a minimum service fee of $1.00. After we get your information and payment, we’ll mail your dog’s license to you.

Are you 70 or older?

We will waive the license fee for residents 70 and older. But, you must apply by mail or in personTải game đổi thẻ to have your fee waived.

Step
1

Before you get started by mail

You need to license your dog if they're older than six months. You must get the license before April 1 of each year.

You'll need to provide a copy of your dog's current rabies certificate and proof of them being spayed or neutered. If you are renewing a dog license, you’ll need to give us your dog's license number. After we process your application, we’ll mail your dog’s license to you.

Not sure if your dog is licensed? .

Step
2

Fill out the application

Whether you’re licensing a new dog or renewing an old license, you need to print out and complete the dog license application

You'll also need to pay a fee with your application:

  • $15 for a neutered male or spayed female, or
  • $30 for an intact male or female.

We take checks or money orders made payable to Boston Animal Care and Control. You’ll also need to pay any outstanding Animal Care and Control fines to get a license. If you are 70 or older, we waive the license fee.

Step
3

Send us your application

Mail your application and payment to:

Boston Animal Care and Control
1010 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02118
Step
1

Before you get started in person

You need to license your dog if they're older than six months. You must get the license before April 1 of each year.

You'll need to provide a copy of your dog's current rabies certificate and proof of them being spayed or neutered. If you are renewing a dog license, you’ll need to give us your dog's license number.

Tải game đổi thẻNot sure if your dog is licensed? .

Step
2

Fill out your application

Whether you’re licensing a new dog or renewing an old license, you need to print out and complete the dog license application

You'll also need to pay a fee with your application:

  • $15 for a neutered male or spayed female, or
  • $30 for an intact male or female.

We take checks or money orders made payable to Boston Animal Care and Control. You’ll also need to pay any outstanding Animal Care and Control fines to get a license. If you are 70 or older, we waive the license fee.

Step
3

Give us your application

Bring your application and payment to:

Animal Care and Control
1010 Massachusetts Ave.
Boston, MA 02118
Office hours
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Need to Know:
no longer own a dog?

Please email animalcontrol@boston.gov, or call us at 617-635-5348. We'll remove you from our list.

Are you 70 or older?

We will waive the dog license fee for residents 70 and older. But, you must apply by mail or in person to have your fee waived.

Contact:
Animal Care and Control
1010 Massachusetts Avenue
4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Why get a dog license?

Tải game đổi thẻThe City requires you to license your dog for several reasons:

  • If you don't license your dog, you'll be fined $50.
  • A dog license is like an ID for your dog. If they ever get lost, the chances of you being reunited are much higher with a license.

Learn about other rules and regulations of owning a pet in the City

Suggested Content

We're testing out suggested content on Boston.gov below. If you see anything out of place, let us know at feedback@boston.gov.